But I do love my hair !

IMG_7707 (1).jpgHonestly I do. I knew I loved my natural hair since I was little. I loved styling and playing with it. However, for a long time i thought wearing a weave was the norm something I had to do cause -everyone does it right? But that’s like saying everyone drinks. The majority does. Not everyone. Don’t get me wrong i love a good extension in my hair. I love looking different and i love changing my hairstyle which is why I love wearing a weave now and then. What i don’t like is the comments between the woman that wears her hair natural and the woman that chooses to wear a weave or someone like me who likes both and does not understand what the hell is going on. So this is me telling both of you girls to sit down, take several seats, listen up:


Dear Natural,

980481_1577479409209049_8835279328407364416_o

I honestly applaud you. Our hair is not easy to handle. It is not easy looking at youtube videos  while getting the hair style right. It is not easy finding the right product for your hair type. It is not easy when media tells you that your hair looks “unprofessional”. But I admire you. I honestly would love to go more often natural but at the moment I am simply too lazy.

But here is the thing- I do love my hair.

I love the texture, the bouncing, the compliments I get when I got that youtube summer look right. I choose to look different not because I am insecure but because I love how different I can look. So don’t tell me I don’t love my hair cause I am wearing a weave or a wig.


Dear Weave/Wig /relaxed woman,

11899374_10207534561391042_2053545401_o(1)

 

I think you are really cool.You can rock every hairstyle you want. It is so empowering that you can choose to put whatever you want on your head. I remember when I grew up as a teenager in Germany and my friends would see my new hair and ask “Is that really you?”. I loved it.

But listen up.

Don’t you ever even dare think your natural hair looks rough. People are going to hate either way. There is nothing wrong with admitting this is not your hair or this is a wig. I had so called “friends” in Germany who thought extensions are soooo unnatural and fake even though the hair most of the time blends in perfectly. Do you wake up with fresh make up everyday? I don’t think so.

Because it is not natural.

Just know the difference between looking fake and something not natural. Love your weave but love your natural hair too. It is who you are.


So just remember. At the end of the day all of you will still put that silk scarf on your head.

Seriously, If you don’t start now.

 

Some terminology for you who doesn’t know what I am saying:

Weave: A hairstyle that helps insert extensions. First you do a cornrow pattern. Then you sow the hair on your head and you can create all sorts of hairstyles.

Relaxed hair: A type of cream that helps straighten curly and afro hair. 

Natural: Usually afro hair but it also includes braids, twists and other hairstyles.

Photography by Jenny’s view

Also check: https://www.instagram.com/jennysviewphoto/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment